Is Street Photography Dead?

By Caroline Aquino and Amina Waheed

The start of photography, has essentially been the start of street photography. Photography began at the same time when the world ventured into urbanisation and globalisation in the 20th century, due to this most of the photographs taken were of the busy streets.

Street photography is the art of capturing moments, incidents and chance encounters. They are images of society as society functions, telling us stories through image with a poignant and layered manner.

Prominent names such as Eugene Atget (1857-1927) and Alfred Stieglitz (1864-1946) became synonymous with the rise of street photography, even though their photography had more to do with nature and architecture, but despite this fact they managed to capture insightful pictures.

Later on from the time period spanning the 20’s to 60’s, there came many notable street photographers and with each their own style and essence of what street photography is. Henri Cartier-Bresson (1908-2004)  developed the idea of  ‘decisive moment’ and stated spontaneity and creativity as the keys to good street photography. Vivian Maier, who worked as a nanny, snapped pictures of people around Chicago. Her pictures were both candid and portraits showing the wonderful characteristics and many faces of human nature.

Many notable photographers came during these years, but after the 60’s, street photography broke off into branches of conceptual art and photojournalism/documentary.

In this day and age street art is a niche concept, with more photographers leaning towards documentary and photojournalism, the essence of just capturing photos to capture life and people seems to be almost lost.

Almost, but not quite.

There are many young photographers who are discovering the art of street photography. We decided to conduct online interviews with two emerging street photographers, Michael Perfecto and Gabby Argarin, from the Philippines.

Mike Perfecto is a 3rd year BS Management student in the Ateneo de Manila University. Other than having a passion for dance, he has a newfound love for photography. As a member of the Company of Ateneo Dancers (CADs), he has been able to express himself as both a performer and a part of documentations team. Perfecto would love to turn these passions into a profession in any way that he can. Perfecto was recently featured on When in Manila, a major online platform for news and reviews in the Philippines, for his photography

23-year old Jose Gabriel “Gabby” Argarin considers himself a newbie in the world of photography. He’s been out of school since 2015 and currently works as an Operations Manager in his family’s construction business. To get technical, he shoots his pictures with a single prime lens, a 35mm equivalent. He really likes the “limitations” it gives because it forces him to think of how he can approach a subject.

 

How long have you been doing photography?

Perfecto: I started last January 1, 2017. It was my New Years resolution so I can kinda measure the length. Around 1 year, 1 month, and 24 days as of this moment.

Argarin: I started studying photography just last April 2017.

What got you into photography?

Perfecto: Photography has always been one of my interests but the type you’d never do something about… like exercise. Haha! That was until I went to Palawan on the last few days of 2016. [I] didn’t have my DSLR [which was] my high school grad gift which I barely used. But I felt like I needed something to do while in Palawan. So I borrowed my mom’s GoPro and took photos of the fish in the beach. This may seem like something every beach goer does but I instantly got hooked. I’d take photos for hours in the water. But sadly, I lost the GoPro as one of the waves hit me hard as I tried to get out. It was devastating. But I figured if it was that devastating, it probably means a lot to me. So the moment I got home and 2017 came in, it was the New Years resolution that I’d make sure come true.

Argarin: My curiosity in studying the elements of photography, like the basic principles, techniques, equipment, etc., started when a colleague of mine brought her camera [to] work. She showed me the photographs she took and I was amazed [at] how she can portray a seemingly normal and everyday scene into something artistic.

What do you normally take photos of?

Perfecto: Anything I find interesting I guess. However, I love capturing moments and landscapes. They give me so much joy. Those are the two subjects that can really take my breath away.

Argarin: I like to do street photography. I like how you don’t need to orchestrate the subject; you just let the natural beauty and emotion of the scene express itself.

Where do you normally post your photographs?

Perfecto: Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Argarin: I post all my photos in Instagram, and occasionally share them in Facebook, which includes the Fujifilm Philippines group I belong to.

What kind of messages or emotions are you trying to portray in your photographs?

Perfecto: Not all my photos have a deep message involved. I do, however, want others to just take it in on their own. If anything, my editing is where my emotions can be seen. If the colors are warm, then I was probably happy or hyper. If the colors are cold, maybe I felt sad, chill, or solemn.

Argarin: I like to tell everybody that you don’t need to travel to tourist places to get great photographs. It’s just a matter of seeing the wonders happening around us in our everyday lives.

What kind of response are you expecting to get when you post and publish your photographs?

Perfecto: It depends really. If I took photos with a lot of meaning or a story, I want people to digest what I took. Hopefully it makes an impact on them. If the photo was just aesthetically pleasing, then, I just hope people like it or something.

Argarin: Positive comments and likes obviously mean a lot to me, and maybe I’m really doing good. However, at the end of the day, it’s my work and [that] means something to me, so no number of likes can replace [that] value.

What are the first few things that come to mind when you hear about street photography?

Perfecto: Routine. The thing is, with street photography, the goal is to capture the ordinary and make it look extraordinary—make it look like as if our daily lives can be put into a movie; that through an onlooker’s perspective, there’s some beauty in the everyday things we do.

Argarin: The first thing that comes to my mind is creativity. A great street photographer needs to be creative enough to capture something that people pass by and experience every day, and from that produce a photograph that still blows every viewer’s mind.

How do you feel about the way pundits are saying that street photography is a slowly dying form of art?

Perfecto: In the circle of photographer friends I have, none of them really do much street photography. Maybe because it doesn’t really pay much. Fashion, events, and food pays a lot more and they’re also really fun to do. Another is that maybe people are not interested in it. One needs a lot of free time and courage to do street photography, especially here in the Philippines.

Argarin: I say let them be. If they continue to believe such a thing, then they’re missing a lot. How can street photography die when our environment changes every single day?

In street photography, do you believe that it has to be strictly candid photography, or do you go up to people and ask to take their pictures?

Perfecto: Both. If you want to capture a moment, candid all the way. But if someone looks really interesting and seeing them smile or pose or whatever will make for s solid photo, then by all means, ask people.

Argarin: In my opinion, street photography should be candid because that’s the idea of street photography, capturing raw emotions and reactions. However, it doesn’t hurt to approach someone and ask his or her permission to take a photograph. But for me [that’s] not street photography [anymore].

Do you have any qualms or fears while taking pictures of people and strangers on the streets?

Perfecto: I’m afraid my camera would get stolen or worse. Aside from that, not much. I just hope I don’t weird too much people out.

Argarin: Of course I do, always! Especially if I’m taking a photograph of a single person on the streets. By only having a single prime lens, it’s really hard to take a photograph of a stranger without being too close.

Have you had any experiences where people did not appreciate having their photographs taken?

Perfecto: As of now, no. [I’m] still new to all forms of photography so I haven’t had an experience where people didn’t like it that their photos were taken. I have asked people for pictures though wherein they said no. So technically, they didn’t want to even before their photos were taken.

Argarin: Fortunately, none. I guess I’m lucky that the places where I’m shooting and the people I’m shooting are very welcoming.

It is said that street photography is difficult because capturing the right moment at the right time is challenging. Have you had this experience when you’re out there taking pictures?

Perfecto: YES. For all the photos I post, there are a hidden hundred more photos that look terrible. A lot look good, but nowhere near whatever I believe is the best photo in the pile. I do get lucky sometimes but I guess that’s just me being quick with the shutter.

Argarin: It’s definitely challenging. There are times when I go out and shoot, and I end up without any photographs I’m happy with. I guess that’s the beauty of it. If it’s easy then there’s no room for learning.

Do you follow certain compositional techniques when taking your photos?

Perfecto: Rule of thirds and leading lines are what I use the most on a conscious basis. I also like it when the subject contrasts from its surroundings. Still pretty new to it all. The most honest answer is that I just wing it and follow my gut.

Argarin: There are times when I remember to follow them, like the rule of thirds or symmetry. But there are times when I’m too preoccupied [with] the scene in front of me, and just press the shutter.

Do you edit your photographs before posting them?

Perfecto: I think I post-process my photos a lot. I color grade them, use almost every tool in Adobe Lightroom, and basically edit it based on what I feel. It depends though. Right now, my goal is to make the colors of the picture pop yet still making it realistic enough. I do enjoy changing the colors entirely depending on the photo.

Argarin: I edit them in Adobe Lightroom. The amount of editing I do depend on what I want to portray in my photographs. If I want to show a certain theme I’m feeling on a specific day, I edit the photograph to match it. However, when it comes to landscape photography, I usually do less editing and showcase the natural beauty of the scenery.

Do you think editing changes the story of your photographs?

Perfecto: The camera can only capture so much. Editing is where I turn the picture I took into what I actually saw when I initially took it. It helps portray emotions through color; helps bring out detail. A huge plus also is that it makes the photos more visually pleasing. Although a bad photo cannot be saved by editing, it can, however, look better.

Argarin: Editing changes the theme, thus changing the story behind it. Editing the photograph softer [or] darker, makes it moodier. On the other hand, if you edit it with more saturated colours, it may represent a more vibrant and upbeat tone.

Are you satisfied with the current photographs you are producing?

Perfecto: Nope. I easily get tired of the photos I take and edit. I always try to think of ways to innovate my photography.

Argarin: Absolutely, but this doesn’t mean they’re perfect because there is still a lot to learn. If there’s something I’m not satisfied with, it’s the time I devote to photography.

Are there other types of photography you would like to venture into?

Perfecto: Photojournalism is definitely the goal. This includes nature photography as well. I also want to try food photography simply because I love food. Wedding photography too. Nothing like immortalising a beautiful moment.

Argarin: If there’s a chance, I’d like to learn portrait photography because I consider this my weakness. I’m really bad and a bit uncomfortable in dealing with a model.

 

Mike Perfecto

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To see more of Mike Perfecto’s photography:

IG: @michael_perfecto

Twitter: @DynaaMiike

Facebook: /mike.perfecto.1

To see Mike Perfecto’s feature, click here.

 

Gabby Argarin

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To see more of Gabby Argarin’s photography:

IG: @misternoeyes

Facebook: /gabby.argarin

Leave a comment